top of page

Welcome to Africa


"Mwanzo wa jambo jipya na zuri" otherwise translated to "The beginning of something new and wonderful."


Walking into the teacher work room on Monday, October 21st I noticed this message on the board. I could not think of how fitting this was for the beginning of my new experience at UWC East Africa in Moshi, Tanzania.


For those of you who do not know, my majors in college were English education, Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL / ESL / ELL / language support), and Middle Level education. Within the umbrella of middle level I am endorsed in English language arts (ELA) and social studies. Tanzania is where I am completing the TESOL portion of my student teaching requirements.


So many people have asked the question, "Why Africa?"


The University of Northern Iowa has many out of state and international placements they can arrange for student teachers: Dubai, Singapore, Paraguay, Costa Rica, Thailand, etc. They have awesome opportunities for student teachers to work on reservations in the U.S.


I chose to travel abroad for my student teaching placement not only because it is an incredible experience, but because I have had little opportunity to experience other cultures this authentically. The United States has a single-track mind about what "Africa" means. Immediately the words that pop into my head are, "third-world country", "poor", "diseases", "malaria and yellow fever", "dirty drinking water", and "villages". Those are all stereotypes I have learned from the time I was old enough to understand informercials asking for "only a dollar a day".


I asked myself this question: "When will I ever have the opportunity to go live in Africa?" and I know unless I choose to teach abroad some day, the answer is that I will not be presented with the same opportunity.


I came to a country where I do not speak the language - though in Tanzania they do speak both English and Swahili. Intermixed between the two official languages are all of the tribal languages and different dialects.


I have no idea what culture shock is. I have read about it, studied it, and I have been abroad one other time in my life. However - I have not lived it until now. The culture is new and amazing, but it is so completely foreign to me.


For example: I went into town to get a SIM card so I could have data on my phone and exchange money. On my way to town I was struck with awe by the sheer number of people walking from place to place. The United States is so spaced out and even though people can walk when they are in town, they often don't choose walking. Moshi reminded me of Amsterdam in the sense that pedestrians claim the street. The traffic laws feel minimal, though I am sure they are not. Already I am trying to take everything in - the smells, colors, and sounds.


Once in town, I was taken to a place to exchange my currency. I speak no Swahili, and the individual helping me had to do most of the conversing. I stood there as rapid-fire conversation was taking place, completely unsure of what was being said and what I needed to do. I was entirely and completely dependent on the person helping me which I have never experienced in my life. Even as a young child when I was with my mother I could still understand the language - even if I didn't understand the content. I also knew that my mom had my best interest at heart and would do whatever it took to ensure I was safe. In an unfamiliar place, surrounded by unfamiliar people, I was also being helped by someone equally as unfamiliar to me. The cultural input was overwhelming and almost felt as though it was overloading my capacity to adapt.


The entire time I was experiencing all of these emotions, I began to understand how some of my students might feel in the United States. All of the immigrants and refugees who come to the U.S. experience the school system in a similar way to how I experienced this new town. If you don't understand anything of the language it almost doesn't matter how helpful someone is. It remains an incredibly overwhelming experience. Not being in control or being able to do things for yourself is an adjustment coming from such an independent society. In fact, it led to my feelings of being inept, incompetent, and a burden.


All of that being said, this is an incredible experience that I can only grow in. It's easy to stay where things are familiar. It is not easy to constantly challenge yourself and intentionally place yourself in uncomfortable situations. We will never grow where there is complete comfort in any situation.


Adapting is difficult but luckily I have supports in place to help me when I'm struggling. I have amazing friends, amazing family, and wonderful ambassadors at my new school. I can't wait for what this experience has to teach me.


Mwanzo wa jambo jipya na zur, my friends. This really is the beginning of something new and wonderful.

bottom of page