top of page

October: 4/5 Day Writing Challenge

Inspiration:

In her work, Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within, Natalie Goldberg reminds writers that "sometimes a simple idea, such as the idea of leaving, can inspire profound writing" (p. 27). Let's try tackling the emotion that can bubble up from the idea of leaving.


Process:

  • Think of something that has emotion for you,

  • use your words to paint the picture,

  • and allow your reader to experience the same emotions you felt.

  • Try on a modified poem for two voices.


Crisp mid-west winds

And unbearable Chicago traffic

Are witness to my anxiety:

nails shredded by my teeth

and a thud, thud, thud, thud from my leg

bouncing against the truck door


There's a lump in my throat that feels

as though a piece of coal is stuck

and on fire

My eyes are stinging as I swallow against the lump

I am unable to breathe properly.

My lungs, unable to rise.

I look through the door at my mother and know I have to say goodbye.


"We're at the right gate" I manage to blurt

And she offers to help me get my luggage

From the back of the truck,

But I want her to park the truck in a garage;

not in the drop-off zone.

I want her to walk me into the airport,

and I want her to hold my hand.

Though I am a newly-minted twenty-three.


I want to watch her wave and smile

As I walk between the security ropes

off to my next big adventure.

But I'm brought back to reality when she appears at my side,

no longer in the truck but

opening the back door.

My hands are shaking and she pulls my suitcase from the back seat where

the cigarette scented grey leather squeaks in response.


I look at her

My brown eyes a mirror reflection of hers

An inch or two the difference in our heights

"I love you baby"

And her smell envelops me

Her strong arms wrapping me up

And I respond in kind by burying my face in her neck

inhaling her uniquely "mom" scent

of Xtra laundry detergent, Tresemme shampoo.

and faintly tobacco mixed with coffee


"I'll see you soon" I reply

letting go and grabbing my luggage handles

shifting my backpack farther up on my shoulders


I want to look back

but I don't

because I know if I do

I might turn around

afraid of being left

at "the right gate."


bottom of page