top of page

October: 3/5 Day Writing Challenge

Inspiration:

For children play and imagination transform the world into a place they long it to be. It seems, as adults, we can lose sight of the importance of play. The month of October, however, invites adults to reconnect with imaginative play especially during Halloween. It is during this time that many adults allow themselves to adopt a new role or identity for a few hours. For this poem, let your imagination soar and try on some new voices.


Process:

  • As you write, play with visual and auditory imagery to transport your readers into your world.

  • For some it helps to start from the perspective of a child where your imagination can flow freely.

  • Consider playing with dialogue, onomatopoeia, and capitalization for effect.

  • End the poem with gratitude for the gift of imaginative play.


"Trick or treat!

Trick or treat!

Give me something good to eat!

If you don't, I don't care -

I'll pull down your underwear!"

I chant as I gallop up the narrow walk

Leading to two white houses connected by a garage

Paint peeling

Coats chipping

Flaking like fingers.

"YAH!" is used

to greet my classmate.

I am a ninja slinking through the night.

My face is wrapped in soft black cloth

beads of saliva and condensation

clinging to the fabric near my mouth

near my nose.

Only my eyes are visible as I reach my yearning hand towards the basket

filled with Baby Ruths, Hershey bars, Whopper balls

The sickly sweet sugar scent permeates the crisp fall air

I shove my hand in the basket and grip the foil-like wrappers


My eyes and appetite are greedy - longing to take all of the candy

But there are more people in line behind me

And more porch lights on

Down the road

Reluctantly,

I release my haul and take two pieces.

A milky way and a snickers.

I grin from ear to ear, feeling superior in my draw of candy.


I turn round and saunter away

To hear my friend yell, "Hey! I didn't even know it was you!"

And I release a soft breath of air

Warming the fabric covering my lips

Smiling to myself


I am a Ninja

The warrior

Concealed in the night.


Thankful

My parents let me skip princess costume

In favor of my black illusion



bottom of page