top of page

October: 2/5 Day Writing Challenge

Trying to catch up - bear with me. Once I have this done I'll be all caught up and I won't overload with posts anymore!


Inspiration:

Life comes at us fast. Without a doubt there are hills, valleys, and plateaus. On occasion these moments make for a memorable (if not defining) experience - one that is remembered throughout a person's life. For many, the senior year of high school is ripe for remembering and celebrating. Let's choose a moment or series of moments from your senior year of high school that captures your fondest memories.


Process:

  • Take a few minutes and write down a series of memories from your senior year of high school.

  • Start with the year you graduated to give the poem some context.

  • Don't worry about rhyme or chronological order, just weave in the highlights of the memories you will always carry with you.

  • End the poem by sharing what you thought your future would hold during that time.



Two-thousand fifteen


Four and a half years ago

yet a lifetime chasm between then and now


It began with a sunrise on the football field

Music, laughter, hugs, and dancing

Starbucks coffee and donuts

Notes to self

So young, so alive


Friday night football lights

Tie blankets

Milky hot cocoa

Marshmallows

Keeping the crisp wind at bay

Themes:

White out

Pink out

Muskie spirit

Neon

etc.

The brisk wind cooling my hands as I tie balloons and streamers

To the football stadium on the Friday of homecoming week.


Student council volunteering

Planning a food drive

Collecting cans and raising funds


A trip to New York City with Model UN

to see the United Nations headquarters

hundreds of students waiting in line

waiting for security

waiting

waiting

cold toes

cold fingers

cold nose


A prom dress with silver sequins

Royal blue

Fake pearls on a headband

Laughter. Incredible laughter

and sweaty bodies

heads tossed back in mirth

standing in a circle singing

"Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)" by Greenday


It is filled with aimless wandering in JCPenny as I search for the perfect yellow

graduation dress

To pair with my purple necklace and earrings

And robe

I remember my heart thudding in my chest

My palms coated with a thin sheet of sweat as I open the commencement ceremony

with a

poem.

My poem.

A poem I wrote to describe the collective fear and excitement

of tossing our graduation caps


The ending - a sunset

On a football field

On the edge of twilight

As the sky turns from

Transluscent

to

Opaque.

The beginning and end

on a football field.

The continuation of our lives

on a football field.





bottom of page